Graduate Council

sunflowers in front of cvpa building
Agendas and Minutes
Agendas and Minutes

Previous agendas and minutes of the George Mason University Graduate Council are arranged in a directory in a public Blackboard folder. Look up historical information about when, why, and how a program, course, or degree changed. For additional information, please contact the Office of Accreditation and Program integrity.

Graduate Council

The Graduate Council oversees graduate courses, certificates, concentrations, degree programs and policies.

The Council may advise the Provost regarding:

  • Academic policies governing graduate education
  • Approval of new and revised graduate courses and programs
  • Review and assessment of graduate programs
  • Planning and attainment of graduate education strategic goals
  • Policies and resources for graduate student support

The Council meets monthly during the academic year. Meetings are open to the entire George Mason University community.  

Agenda items must be submitted two weeks prior to the meeting date. Late submissions will be postponed to the next meeting. The agenda will be posted online one week prior to the meeting. All meetings will be held 1:30 – 3:00 p.m. The agenda for the next upcoming meeting can be found here.

Graduate Council Meeting Dates 2023-2024

Agenda Items Due Agenda Online Meeting Date Meeting Location
August 02 August 09 August 16 Zoom
September 06 September 13 September 20 Zoom
October 04 October 11 October 18 Zoom
November 01 November 08 November 15 Zoom
November 29 December 06 December 13 Zoom
January 03 January 10 January 17 Zoom
February 07 February 14 February 21 Zoom
March 01 March 13 March 20 Zoom
April 03 April 10 April 17 Zoom
May 01 May 08 May 15 Zoom

Graduate Council Members

Representative Contact Information Term
Laurence C. Bray
Chair
Associate Provost for Graduate Education and Associate Professor
lbray2@gmu.edu
Non-expiring
Yellia Seanor
Graduate Council Secretary
Administrative Specialist, Graduate Education yseanor@gmu.edu Non-expiring
Jennifer Hathaway
College of Education & Human Development
Assistant Professor of Education, ELS
jhathaw2@gmu.edu
08/20 to 08/23
Ellen Rodgers
College of Education & Human Development
Associate Dean, Student and Academic Affairs, and Associate Professor
erodger1@gmu.edu
08/21 to 08/24
Deborah J. Goodings
College of Engineering and Computing
Associate Dean for Graduate Programs and Professor
goodings@gmu.edu
08/21 to 08/24
Ioulia Rytikova
College of Engineering and Computing
Associate Professor, Information Sciences & Technology                                                                  irytikov@gmu.edu 07/22 to 06/25
Michael Bloom
College of Public Health
Associate Professor, Global and Community Health
mbloom22@gmu.edu
08/20 to 08/23
Robert Weiler
College of Public Health
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor                                                  rweiler@gmu.edu 07/22 to 06/25
Michael Malouf
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Associate Professor, English
mmalouf@gmu.edu
08/20 to 08/23
Marguerite Rippy
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Associate Dean of Graduate Academic Affairs and Associate Professor
mrippy2@gmu.edu
08/20 to 08/23
Donna Fox
College of Science
Associate Dean, Student Affairs and Special Programs
dfox1@gmu.edu
08/20 to 08/23
Benoit Van Aken
College of Science
Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
bvanaken@gmu
08/20 to 08/23
Gregory Robinson
College of Visual and Performing Arts
Associate Professor, Music
grobins8@gmu.edu
07/22 to 06/25
Justin Sutters
College of Visual and Performing Arts
Assistant Dean of Research and Assessment, and Associate Professor
jsutters@gmu.edu
08/22 to 06/25
Victoria Grady
Faculty Senate
Associate Professor, Management
vgrady3@gmu.edu
08/22 to 08/23
Thomas Flores
Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter School for Peace and Conflict Resolution
Director of Graduate Programs and Associate Professor
tflores2@gmu.edu
08/20 to 08/23
Terrence Lyons
Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter School for Peace and Conflict Resolution
Professor, Conflict Resolution
tlyons1@gmu.edu
07/22 to 06/25
Sonia Listokin
Schar School of Policy and Government
Associate Professor
slistoki@gmu.edu
07/22 to 06/25
Bonnie Stabile
Schar School of Policy and Government
Associate Dean for Student and Academic Affairs, and Associate Professor
bstabile@gmu.edu
08/21 to 08/24
Ioannis Bellos
School of Business
Associate Professor, Information Systems and Operations
ibellos@gmu.edu
07/22 to 06/25
Paige Wolf
School of Business
Associate Dean of Graduate Programs
pwolf1@gmu.edu
07/22 to 06/25
Ayondela McDole
Student Representative
President, Graduate and Professional Student Association
amcdole@gmu.edu
07/22 to 06/23
Hsien-Tien Shen
Student Representative
Executive Vice President, Graduate and Professional Student Association
hshen2@gmu.edu
07/22 to 06/23